Skydive Temple - Http://fort-hood-off-limits.org/

Killeen, Texas 5 comments
Not resolved

Skydive Temple is now listed at:

http://fort-hood-off-limits.org/

3/20/07 - fatality skydive temple

9/05/09 - accident skydive temple

6/25/10 - accident skydive temple

7/21/10 - accident skydive temple

9/11/10 - accident skydive temple

9/30/10 - accident skydive temple

11/20/10 - accident skydive temple

6/05/11 - accident skydive temple

08/20/11 - accident skydive temple

Former Skydive Temple pilot Tim Wheeler - provided a recent audio recording, whereas he claims that Mark Pollack - owner of skydive temple - ordered him to fly into a developing thunderstorm - next to I35 Salado.

Mark Pollack provided the 146th Judicial district confirmation that he in fact carries no insurance and anyone that jumps at his DZ is on their own if they get hurt.

Review about: Skydiving.

Comments

Anonymous
#461831

I too checked the Fort Hood website, Skydive Temple is not off-limits.My son and I had a lot of fun skydiving the other day.

Someone has a grudge against them.I checked with a number of people, Salado Fire Department and other jump masters not connected to Skydive Temple, their operation is safe as this sport and be.

Anonymous
#445562

it is not off limits anyone with a brain can look up the off limits area

Anonymous
#445561

it is not off limits

Anonymous
#444471

Per order of the Fort Hood Post Commander, the facility of Skydive Temple is declared off limits. All Fort Hood Military Personnel are instructed to stay away from this facility.

Anonymous
#442299

Skydive Temple is NOT OFF LIMITS to FT Hood personnel and actually a suggested safe activity for soldiers returning from the field.

View more comments

Skydive Temple - Www.skydive-temple.com

Killeen, Texas 4 comments
Not resolved

DO NOT GO TO SKYDIVE TEMPLE - LOOK AT THE NUMBER OF ACCIDENTS BELOW

Please listen to the audio recordings at this web site:

http://www.skydive-temple.com

3/20/07 - fatality skydive temple

9/5/09 - accident skydive temple

6/25/10 - accident skydive temple

7/21/10 - accident skydive temple

9/11/10 - accident skydive temple

9/30/10 - accident skydive temple

11/20/10 - accident skydive temple

6/5/11 - accident skydive temple

Local Bell County Officials:

1) (254)947-8961 - Chief Charles Young - Salado Fire Chief

2) (254)933-5517 - Glenn Shoemaker - Bell County 911 Communications

3) (254)933-5130 - Rick Miller - Bell County Attorney

Review about: Skydiving.

Comments

Anonymous
Cub Run, Kentucky, United States #375952

The AFDCB is an investigative committee composed of members from each of the services and civilian advisers, who seek to protect the interests and welfare of service members when they are off post. The AFDCB, working in close cooperation with local law enforcement agencies, civic organizations and legitimate business establishments, tries to prevent unfair and criminal practices against military personnel by disreputable businesses.

The AFDCB assists commanders in eliminating conditions detrimental to the good order and discipline, health, morale, welfare, safety and morals of armed forces personnel. It ensures the establishment and maintenance of the highest degree of liaison between military and civil law enforcement authorities.

These boards receive information on undesirable conditions affecting military personnel at establishments or areas within civilian communities which harbor such conditions; report the existence of such conditions to commanders, together with recommended action; cooperate with civil authorities regarding these problems; and recommend to commanders the designation of certain areas and establishments as off-limits to military personnel and the removal of such designations, when appropriate. Undesirable conditions include conditions relating to drug abuse, liquor violations, improper discipline, illegal gambling and unfair commercial practices. Joint service policies and procedures regarding such boards are set forth in Army Regulation 190-24.

Anonymous
Cub Run, Kentucky, United States #371699

For information on this accident email: jump@skydive-temple.com

Anonymous
Cub Run, Kentucky, United States #357146

Please call me with your experience at Skydive Temple. My direct line is (254) 291-4696.

Anonymous
#356647

This Drop Zone is no more less safe then any DZ that I have been to in my 10 years of skydiving.Jumping out of planes in inherently dangerous, but we all do it know that fact!

The owner and staff of this DZ always takes safety of the jumpers as the most important priority! Just this past weekend we could have stuck it out and tried to make jumps in marginal weather. But the owner canceled all jumps for the weekend at first sign of bad weather.

The safety of the students and fun jumpers came first!!I would recommend this DZ to all persons wanting to jump!

View more comments

Skydive Temple - Www.skydivetemple.com

Copperas Cove, Texas 6 comments

My son was nearly killed here in September 2010.After he crashed, they stole his parachute, AAD and other equipment valued at $6000.00 and pocketed the money.

This is like when a person is in a casket, they take your watch. Who is looking anyways. All of the reviews on the google and yahoo sites are FAKE and made up by Wendy Faulkner the computer expert and co conspirator. Her Attorney, Lee McMillian admitted that they just washed Justin's blood off the parachute and sold it to Mark Jeffcoat in Austin Texas.

I have turned this matter over to law enforcement and filed a lawsuit.

If you want to ask me about skydive temple, call me on my cell (254) 291-4696.My name is Shawn Richeson and I can prove these people are crooks and liars.

Review about: Parachute.

Comments

Anonymous
Killeen, Texas, United States #640787

I just started jumping and Skydive Temple is great. Spectacular and really safety oriented. I can't imagine any jumper getting hurt there unless they did something wrong or failed to do something they should have.

Odds of main chute failing: 1/750

Anonymous
Cub Run, Kentucky, United States #397766

Not sure who the last poster in this blog is but I would assume it is Mark Pollack.

Your track record as a drop zone owner is well documented and Fort Hood is absolutely correct in shutting you down.

If anyone purporting to toss around threats in this blog would like to meet in person and discuss this matter in person, you are welcome to swing by my home at:

Shawn A. Richeson

1906 Twilight Drive

Killeen, Texas 76543

(254) 291-4606 - My Cell

shawnricheson
#298343

I need to apologise to all the people I have hurt over the years with lawsuits and other harassments.I realize I have done people wrong and beg forgiveness not only those that I have hurt but our Almighty God above.

I realize that I someday I may offend and damage people with greater knowledge than I that might see to wish me ill, in a variety of places, such as online and in person.

It is well known that I reside in Killeen and I am starting to have great fear for my family.Please forgive me Lord and all that I have harmed and I strive to be a model citizen both at my residence on Twilight and the greater world.

DB_Cooper
#285512

Skydive Temple is a great place to jump and very safe.Mr.

Richeson has no facts and empty opinions.

Sorry for your boy but how about stopping these attacks on Skydive Temple.Please.

Anonymous
#284619

Hope your son is ok. I'm sorry that this had to happen to you and your boy. Don't listen to Boohoo, this *** goes on everybody's complant and makes these comments.

Anonymous
#273654

So sorry to hear about your son and I hope he is ok and everything works out for you.Also never mind the trolls like Boo Hoo.

Just an empty life and an empty space between the ears.God bless.

View more comments

SkyDive Temple Texas - Jumper Dies – Jumper Lives

Waco, Texas 45 comments
Not resolved

Skydive Temple - Salado Tx - Justin Richeson Skydiving Accident September 30 2010 6:50 PM.A pasture fence surrounds the drop zone area of Skydive Temple.

The regulatory standard size of skydive temple's drop zone is in question, at this time. Student and professional skydivers have to navigate through the air in close quarters to make a safe landing at skydive temple in Salado Texas. Justin's height and weight were not taken into consideration by Skydive Temple in Salado.. Justin is 6'4" 250 pounds.

The regulatory allowable height and weight for skydiving was possibly violated and is under investigation at this time. Skydive temple is an extremely high traffic area for skydivers. Planes are taking off at the same time that jumpers are coming in for a landing. I witnessed the day of Dead Mans Boogy 2010 and there were people running around all over the place like chickens with their heads cut off.

I'm not implying that it's not possible to have a fast paced business. I simply stating that from my personal observation, it was a mad house at skydive temple that day. I think that there should be longer skydive classes and training. (((Skydive Temple makes claims that there has only been 1 skydiving death in the 20 years of their Company...

I believe that Skydive Temple should inform jumpers that they have had 100's of skydiving accidents. Filling new skydivers heads with false facts about injuries, near death experiences and actual deaths, should be illegal...))) Justin Richeson died on September 30 2010 and was revived 20 seconds after his death. He has been in numerous emergency surgeries that have saved his life... Justin Richeson is now at a Muscular Rehab Center 55 days after the accident.

Justin is fighting to regain strength in his legs...

I pray for Justin and a fast recovery...My name is Stephanie Richeson, I am Justin Richeson's sister, and this is my opinion.

Review about: Skydiving.

Comments

Anonymous
#549652

I decided to jump out of airplanes because I wanted to. The training presented by skydive temple reminded me of my military days. Safety, and repetition, to induce "muscle memory".

My parents were not thrilled when I informed them that I wanted to skydive however, I was told that it was my choice. Skydiving is not like piloting a airplane, there is no one next to you to correct YOUR mistakes. If my parents acted like Cindy Sheenan, and tried to hold someone else responsible for my actions, I would be embarrassed. What happened to personal responsibility as a adult?

Regards,

Shelby

Anonymous
#524093

my name is justin... go figure...

come on people skydiving is a risky sport. one does not have to be very smart to know that jumping out of an airplane that is not on fire, may not be safe!! the dangers are gone over and over with students. every thing drilled into their heads, but like anyone involved in a tecnical sport one can easly get overwhelmed. if Justin thought that the landing area was too small or too dangreous, he could have visited some of the other larger DZs with Larger Open landing areas. that being said Temple's landing area is not big ...BUT ITS BY NO MEANS THE SMALLEST IVE LANDED!! bottom line is the jumper takes all risk and reward of the sport..

skydiving will always be dangerous!! do it or do not do it...the choice is yours

Justin i am very sorry that you got hurt that really sucks. ive broken myself before and it sucks thats all there is to it. glad you are alive!

i hope you can make a full recovery and i wish you and your family the best.

Anonymous
Cub Run, Kentucky, United States #383676

By: Associated Press

SALADO, Texas -- A 49-year-old Austin man has been killed in a skydiving accident in Central Texas.

Authorities say Dave Sebesta's main parachute became entangled with that of another diver and he wasn't able to deploy his reserve chute in time -- before hitting the ground.

Sebesta was pronounced dead at a Temple hospital on Saturday. Mark Pollock with Skydive Temple says the accident near Salado happened during a jump with eleven other experienced sky divers.

Sebesta and a second diver became entangled at about 1,700 feet. They cut themselves loose, but while one diver was able to open his reserve parachute and land, suffering minor injuries. Sebesta didn't have enough time.

Fire department officials say Sebesta was only about 100 feet from the ground he deployed his reserve chute.

Anonymous
Cub Run, Kentucky, United States #365005

3/20/07 - fatality skydive temple

9/05/09 - accident skydive temple

6/25/10 - accident skydive temple

7/21/10 - accident skydive temple

9/11/10 - accident skydive temple

9/30/10 - accident skydive temple

11/20/10 - accident skydive temple

6/05/11 - accident skydive temple

08/20/11 - accident skydive temple

Our Son - Justin Richeson was in a (near fatal accident) at Skydive Temple on September 30th 2010. His parachute failed and ultimately crashed into a fence at the jump facility. He was transported to Scott and White hospital, and remained in the ICU and rehab center for (5) months.

Former Skydive Temple pilot (Tim Wheeler) - provided a recent audio recording, whereas he claims that (Mark Pollack) - owner of skydive temple - ordered him to fly into a developing thunderstorm - next to I35 Salado.

Wendy Faulkner, Skydive Temple employee, refused to participate, and the pilot quit over that incident.

To date, Mark Pollack has not visited or called Justin or the Richeson family.

Our son has run up medical bills just north of 1.3 million dollars. Mark Pollack and Skydive Temple are not insured for accidents and neither have contributed a penny to Justin's medical bills at Scott and White or Hillcrest Baptist Rehab Center.

We do not want any money from Mark Pollack or Skydive Temple. We simply want to warn the public about the way this particular drop zone is run, and the frequency and severity of the accidents at Skydive Temple.

Anonymous
Cub Run, Kentucky, United States #358063

BEFORE YOU JUMP - READ THIS - www.SkyDive-Temple.com

Anonymous
#356665

I am curious to know if all these attacks against Skydive Temple and the owners there are real?As a skydiver myself, I have signed waivers at every DZ I have jumped at.

I am sure that anyone jumping there signed a waiver. It is a free will sport, and many of the injuries and deaths occur from jumpers that make poor decisions. Plain and simple.

There are more warnings, waivers, and training than many other equally dangerous sports.If you jump, it is your responsibility to be aware of the dangers.

Anonymous
Cub Run, Kentucky, United States #356631

It does look like a majority of these complaints are negative.

Skydive Temple is not to blame.

The people *** enough to jump out of an airplane are to blame.

Anonymous
#356065

Skydiving is a risky sport, I've been injured a few times over my near 25 years in the sport.None of those incidents were caused by anything any dropzone did.

Absolutely 100% of them were caused by myself. It is impossible to have a dropzone where there are no obstacles. Skydive Temple is very wide open, better than a lot of dropzones I've seen. There is no reason for any jumper, inexperienced or otherwise to hit anything.

In my years in the sport I've seen students manage to hit the one and only obstacle for miles around, not sure how they manage to do it but nothing can be made completely *** proof.

Seems like there is a lot of negativity here about Skydive Temple... I mean really a lot!!! Hmmm... On closer inspection it seems that the bulk of this comes from how many sources...

Oh, just one! Something bad happens and you get angry and you lash out...

lash out at whom ever happens to be in the way.The problem is you end up with zero credibility.

Anonymous
Cub Run, Kentucky, United States #354804

3/20/07 - fatality skydive temple

9/5/09 - accident skydive temple

6/25/10 - accident skydive temple

7/21/10 - accident skydive temple

9/11/10 - accident skydive temple

9/30/10 - accident skydive temple

11/20/10 - accident skydive temple

6/5/11 - accident skydive temple

Anonymous
Cub Run, Kentucky, United States #354623

Timothy Wheeler 4617 92nd Street Lubbock, Texas 79424 806-787-4070 Timothy Wheeler contacted me on august 22nd 2011, and claimed he was ordered by Mark Pollack, to fly an airplane in to a brewing thunderstorm, just west of I35 outside of Salado Texas.The airplane contained 10 new and inexperienced jumpers.

Wendy Faulkner, the jump master at skydive temple, refused to fly in contradiction to Mark Pollacks orders, because she claimed it was too dangerous.Timothy Wheeler claimed that Mark pollack is unstable, a heavy drinker and exhibit violent behavior towards his subordinates.

Anonymous
Cub Run, Kentucky, United States #353601

Timothy Wheeler

4617 92nd Street

Lubbock, Texas 79424

806-787-4070

Timothy Wheeler contacted me on august 22nd 2011, and claimed he was

ordered by Mark Pollack, to fly an airplane in to a brewing

thunderstorm, just west of I35 outside of Salado Texas.

The airplane contained 10 new and inexperienced jumpers.

Wendy Faulkner, the jump master at skydive temple, refused to fly in

contradiction to Mark Pollacks orders, because she claimed it was too

dangerous.

Timothy Wheeler claimed that Mark pollack is unstable, a heavy drinker and exhibit violent behavior towards his subordinates.

Timothy Wheeler appears to be very credible and I have turned his audio recordings over to the FAA as part of my investigation.

The Salado fire Chief, Charles Young, claimed in a recorded

conversation, that he has dispatched his EMS staff to multiple crashes

at Skydive Temple.

Chief Young and Captain Berrier of the Salado fire department, both

claim that it is the common practice of Mark Pollack, to remove the

parachute equipment from the skydiving victim, and hide it at an offsite

location, before EMS arrives, in order that the chain of custody be

broken, and equipment cannot be tested for failure.

Chief Charles Young of the Salado fire department indicated in a

recorded conversation, that he in fact had sited Mark Pollack for

criminal acts of this nature, and warned that he would arrest Mark

Pollack, if he continued with this conduct in the future.

Glenn Shoemaker of the Bell County 9-11 emergency Center claimed that

their have been multiple 9-11 calls made from Skydive Temple and I35

passengers in Salado reporting accidents at skydive temple.

Detective T.J. Cruz of the Bell County Sheriff's department should be

contacted with details of all future accidents and crashes at skydive

temple.

Detective T.J. Cruz can be reached at (254) 933-5435.

My name is Shawn Richeson, and my Son Justin was nearly killed at skydive temple.

Justin Richeson was in the hospital for 5 months, and is now in a wheel chair.

Justin has extensive permanent injuries.

We believe a video was destroyed by Mark Pollack that would show with clarity what happened on September 30th 2010 at approximately 5:30 PM CST.

We believe the parachute malfunctioned, but cannot recover it for testing, as the chain of custody has been destroyed by Mark Pollack.

My investigation is ongoing, and I may be reached at:

Shawn at Click a Nerd dot com

Anonymous
Cub Run, Kentucky, United States #349921

Dear "Really" poster,

Justin (my son) was seriously injured and now lives out his days in a wheel chair.

Mark and Penny Pollack, the owners of this place, never so much as visited or called Justin during his (5) month stay at Scott & White and Hillcrest Baptist rehab center.

Their is nothing to "cash in" on.

Mark & Penny have no insurance, have no assets and are in debt up to their ***.

The skydive school is run on a shoe string budget and constantly puts the lives of its jumpers in danger, way beyond most other skydive places in the USA.

The drop zone is just a few yards to the east of Interstate 35 and a jumper is either going to hit a fence, the interstate, Valaro gas station or a powerline.

My complaints are about Mark and Penny Pollack and their total lack f safety and security concerns.

A phone call to the Salado fire department or Glenn Shoemaker with the Bell county 9-11 will show that the number of accidents are way out of line.

A complaint was filed with the Bell County Sheriff and the FAA.

Lets see what they say!

Anonymous
#345336

Your son was into skydiving.It's terrible he was hurt, but it's a dangerous sport.

He knew the risks. Now you're looking to cash in. We're supposed to believe the claims made by a convicted fraudster, someone raided by the US Marshals for selling counterfeit Novell software, and currently involved in getting his *** handed to him by ROR? You're dreaming.

Get over yourself.

You and Annette are the crooks here.No one else.

Anonymous
Lemont, Illinois, United States #297860

A lady flew into a fence on the property of mark and penny pollack, the owners of skydive temple in salado texas on sunday june the 5th, 2011 in the early afternoon. This makes a total of eight serious accidents in the last two years.

Anonymous
Lemont, Illinois, United States #290946

This is why you should not do business with Mark Pollack or Skydive Temple.My Son was in a near fatal skydiving accident on their property in Salado on September 30th 2010 at or around 6:15PM CST.

My Son had purchased around $6,000.00 in skydiving equipment about a week just prior to this accident from Skydive Temple. When Justin (my son) crashed into a fence on the south side of their property and was laying in a face down position and teetering on deaths door step, Mark Pollack had stolen the equipment off of the back of Justin a few minutes before EMS had arrived and subsequently sold the equipment to Mark Jeffcoat a software engineer in Austin Texas, who is now a witness in a State proceeding. Mark Pollack pocketed the money and thought he got away with it, because he thought that Justin (my son) was going to die from his injuries. My son lived and is now in a wheel chair and we have sued Mark Pollack in the 146th Judicial District under cause no.

248,541B. Mark Pollack has just been ordered to appear in Court and give testimony in front of a Bell County Jury for his actions. When I got a hold of Shane Barry at the Salado Department, he said that taking peoples property and disposing of it before EMS shows up is a common practice for Mark Pollack and Skydive Temple. State and Federal authorities have been contacted and Mark Pollack and Skydive Temple is under investigation.

Do not take a chance and waste your money at Skydive Temple, they are about to get shut down.

If you want a copy of my report or need copies of the affidavits and other legal pleadings, please contact me: (254) 291-4696.My name is Shawn Richeson and I am Justin's father.

Anonymous
Lemont, Illinois, United States #290940

This is why you should not do business with Mark Pollack or Skydive Temple.My Son was in a near fatal skydiving accident on their property in Salado on September 30th 2011 at or around 6:15PM CST.

My Son had purchased around $6,000.00 in skydiving equipment about a week just prior to this accident from Skydive Temple. When Justin (my son) crashed into a fence on the south side of their property and was laying in a face down position and teetering on deaths door step, Mark Pollack had stolen the equipment off of the back of Justin a few minutes before EMS had arrived and subsequently sold the equipment to Mark Jeffcoat a software engineer in Austin Texas, who is now a witness in a State proceeding. Mark Pollack pocketed the money and thought he got away with it, because he thought that Justin (my son) was going to die from his injuries. My son lived and is now in a wheel chair and we have sued Mark Pollack in the 146th Judicial District under cause no.

248,541B. Mark Pollack has just been ordered to appear in Court and give testimony in front of a Bell County Jury for his actions. When I got a hold of Shane Barry at the Salado Department, he said that taking peoples property and disposing of it before EMS shows up is a common practice for Mark Pollack and Skydive Temple. State and Federal authorities have been contacted and Mark Pollack and Skydive Temple is under investigation.

Do not take a chance and waste your money at Skydive Temple, they are about to get shut down.

If you want a copy of my report or need copies of the affidavits and other legal pleadings, please contact me: (254) 291-4696.My name is Shawn Richeson and I am Justin's father.

Anonymous
Lemont, Illinois, United States #285837

I have removed the website www.skydivetemplesucks.com.We will solve our differences in court.

I am not unfairly attacking Mark Pollack.

The safety record at skydive temple is terrible.That is allot of accidents in a short period of time.

DB_Cooper
#285513

Skydive Temple is a great place to jump and very safe.Mr.

Richeson has no facts and empty opinions.

Sorry for your boy but how about stopping these attacks on Skydive Temple.Please.

Anonymous
Lemont, Illinois, United States #279793

To all those concerned about Justin, we are suppose to be in Court on Friday in Bell County Texas. So everyone still knows what this case is about, please goto: www.SkyDiveTempleSucks.com and read the page. The conduct exhibited by Mark Pollack is sickening.

My Name is Shawn Richeson and

my Cell Number is (254) 291-4696

Please do not call me at work like the last poster said.

Anonymous
Spackenkill, New York, United States #279767

603-546-7158

This number with "more information" is from click a nerd where Richeson works.

Anonymous
Spackenkill, New York, United States #279766

Shawn Richeson is pretty much a *** fraud.Just google his name.

He needs to leave SD temple alone.These are good folks.

Anonymous
#275426

if mark and penny are such nice people, then why do they sale skydive rigs that dont belong to them? :?

Anonymous
Lemont, Illinois, United States #275134

I am creating: www.SkydiveTempleSucks.com as a way to spread the truth about Mark Pollack, Skydive Temple and its safety record. If anyone out their wants to confirm the safety record, call the Salado Texas fire Department at (254) 947-8961

Anonymous
Jabalpur, Madhya Pradesh, India #274393

Also!!To add, that Mark Pollack and Penny Pollack are the best people I have ever met in my life.

Their southern hospitality is fantastic! So before you go bashing people on-line/slandering, get your facts straight. If you think that skydiving is irresponsible, that is your problem, not ours.

AGAIN, like any other sport, if you expect to not get hurt, than you are in the wrong place.People in every sport get hurt at some point or another.

Anonymous
Jabalpur, Madhya Pradesh, India #274381

In response to what Lindsay said, and I'm pretty sure it's the one I'm thinking of; Skydive Temple is a great place with great instructors and a great environment.I jumped there for two years minus a few months and lived there for a few months.

I loved every second of it. I highly reccommend it to anyone.

Skydiving is a sport like any other sport. Injuries can and will happen.

However, the instructors there are always on their feet ready to teach and by any means avoid injuries.THAT is my opinion, as well as a fact

Anonymous
#273662

I send my condolences to Justin, but at the same time I hope Justin's family (especially Shawn) can understand that as a jumper Justin assumed the risk that is inherent in jumping out of an airplane. Skydive Temple is in no way (through omission or comission) responsible for Justin's accident. Slandering their business and calling them crackheads is not going to change the fact that this was a horrible ACCIDENT.

Anonymous
#273653

To comment on #7, "Anyone dumb enough to jump out of a perfectly good airplane deserves what they get but at least they should know the truth about the frequency and the seriousness of the accidents before they jump.".......you should tell that to Shawn Richeson. you two will get along

Anonymous
#273408

I just spent a long time writing a response to this thread but it did not go through and now I don't have much time but still want to respond. I wanted to send my condolences to Justin and his family. This is a real tragedy you are dealing with but luckily with a second chance to recover and hopefully one day be able to move on.

I am a 25 year old female skydiving instructor jumping since I was 19 and I know that even after this amount of time if something happened to me on a jump my family would be extremely upset. But that is the same for whether it was a skydiving accident or any other kind of accident. Tragic accidents bring much sadness and pain.

Being a skydiver I would like to speak on behalf of the sport. It is not an irresponsible sport but one surrounded by safety. Our goal is to be safe however you cannot always make this happen. It is an inherently dangerous sport and we all know this. But we love it and we do it anyways because it is exhilirating. It brings us a community and our own special family that Justin got only a taste of, but he must have seen or he wouldn't have kept going back. As a fellow skydiver Justin is family to all of us and this tragedy weighs on all of our hearts. I have never met him but I can say that I truly hope for the best.

As far as Skydive Temple goes, it is a great place to skydive with a great record. Every place has their ups and downs. Sometimes you can have a bad few months and then you can have a long time of no injuries. If anyone was thinking about making a skydive there I would say you should definitely do it. They are great people and it is a great place. I used to work there as an instructor and it is in fact a very safety conscious dropzone. Sometimes bad things happen though. They do not mislead people on the risks of the sport either. First of all the waiver should be enough- but in the course to train students you discuss everything that can go wrong and how to deal with these emergencies. So from the beginning at any dropzone, a student is very aware that a number of possibly fatal situations can occur. There is also the fatality report on dropzone.com that is available for all people to see. There are risks but we jump anyways because we like a challenge, we like risk, and we like fun.

I send my condolences again to Justin's family and friends. I know this whole ordeal must be very difficult. To Justin I want to say fight hard and keep your head held high. You must be very strong if you survived. Strong enough to make a full recovery.

Anonymous
Lemont, Illinois, United States #268806

My son was nearly killed here in September 2010.After he crashed, they stole his parachute, AAD and other equipment valued at $6000.00 and pocketed the money.

This is like when a person is in a casket, they take your watch. Who is looking anyways. Attorney, Lee McMillian admitted that they just washed Justin's blood off the parachute and sold it to Mark Jeffcoat in Austin Texas. I have turned this matter over to law enforcement and filed a lawsuit.

If you want to ask me about skydive temple, call me on my cell (254) 291-4696.My name is Shawn Richeson and I can prove these people are crooks and liars.

Anonymous
Lemont, Illinois, United States #265941

I am looking for stolen equipment. Mark Pollack and Attorney Lee McMillian are covering up the theft of my equipment. If anyone out there knows where my equipment is, please call me (254) 291-4696 and ask for Shawn.

Anonymous
Lemont, Illinois, United States #263511

Mark Pollack, the owner of Skydive Temple is a CRIMINAL. Mark sold my parachute without my permission and kept the money. This group of crackheads need to be shut down.

Anonymous
Lemont, Illinois, United States #261969

15771 S IH-35

Salado, TX 76571

www.skydivetemple.com

254-947-3483

Some one needs to investigate the injuries and deaths at

Skydive Temple in Bell County Texas. Mark Pollack is the

owner. The Salado fire department is always getting

jumpers untangled from power lines and the number of

serious injuries and deaths in 2010 and 2011 are

staggering. For a true measure of safety and genuine

statistics call the Salado Fire Department at (254) 947-

8961. SKYDIVING IS VERY UNSAFE

Anonymous
Lemont, Illinois, United States #261532

Skydiving is an elected sport and is specifically exempted from all insurance carriers.

This means that if you get hurt or killed while doing this, your family will not be paid.

Skydiving for sport is irresponsible on many levels.

The United States Parachuting Association would make you believe that skydiving is safer than the drive getting to the drop zone.

The truth is, they are paid to say that and it just isn't so.

Ask Mark & Penny Pollack the owners of Skydive Temple, the last time Penny or their daughters jumped out of an airplane if they genuinely believe its safe.

The fact of the matter is that skydiving is not safe and their is ample data to support that fact.

Anonymous
Lemont, Illinois, United States #261360

Skydive Temple is a tiny little drop in the bucket of accidents compared to the places in California and Arizona. The entire skydiving industry should be brought under the FAA and regulated and watched like a hawk. Anyone dumb enough to jump out of a perfectly good airplane deserves what they get but at least they should know the truth about the frequency and the seriousness of the accidents before they jump.

Anonymous
#260687

way too much cocaine running through the veins of skydive temple employees :sigh

Anonymous
#260452

This accident was pilot error... It is in no way Skydive Temples fault.. Skydiving is very safe and alot of fun...

Anonymous
Lemont, Illinois, United States #259603

Dear Mr.Richeson,

I have some information that you may be interested in.

I was on the jump grounds on that day in September that your son was in his accident.My telephone number is 1-603-546-7158

Anonymous
Lemont, Illinois, United States #258957

As far as the type of jump, I do not know that information. Mark Pollack is the owner of the jump facility and he would have the specifics on the type of jump. If you get that information, would you please update this post for everyone?

Thanks

Shawn - (254) 291-4696

Justin's Dad

Anonymous
Lemont, Illinois, United States #258956

9/5/09 Reported as Falls

6/25/10 Reported as Traumatic Injury

7/21/10 Reported as Falls

9/11/10 Reported as Traumatic Injury

11/20/10 Reported as Falls

11/30/10 Reported as Life Threatening

This is what was given to me from Bell County 9-11. My Son was on 11/30/2010. He was in the ICU and hospital for the past 5 months.

There was another one recently but I am not sure of the level of injuries

Anonymous
#258655

Were these accidents tandem or solo?What were the accidents?

Concussion?

Fatality?Sprained ankle?

Just wanted more information on these incidents.

Anonymous
Lemont, Illinois, United States #257426

Dear Spectator,

This is what I have found out from the Bell County 9-11 since my sons tragedy.

9/5/09 - accident skydive temple

6/25/10 - accident skydive temple

7/21/10 - accident skydive temple

9/11/10 - accident skydive temple

9/30/10 - accident skydive temple (Justin)

11/20/10 - accident skydive temple

If you notice, there was an accident on 9/11/2010 that was just a few weeks before Justin's trip to the ICU and 155 day stay in the hospital.

Justin had no idea of any of the accidents at skydive temple.

Mark & Penny pollack work diligently to cover them up and deceive their clients into a false sense of safety.

I am glad you had a nice weekend watching people jump out of planes and not end up in the hospital.

I am sure Mark & Penny are very nice people and very friendly with the clients and jumpers.

However when you lie to people and hide the accidents and not let new people know about them, that is a textbook deceptive business practice.

When you hire employees that pack parachutes that are involved with taking drugs like meth, mistakes get made.

When you hire jump instructors that have been convicted of DWI, mistakes get made.

Mark & Penny supply jumpers with alcohol, after an adrenaline rush like skydiving and those people drive down interstate 35 and become another menace to society.

I was never an advocate or nay sayer of sky diving and I refuse to characterize it as a sport.

I was however in the Military for 8 years and my friends that were in the 82nd and 101st airborne that skydive do it for a living.

1) The training required before someone solo jumps from a plane is substantially more than skydive temple.

2) The safety training by the Military is substantially better than skydive temple.

3) The Military does not engage in the use of illegal drugs and alcohol and then pack parachutes for its jumpers.

4) The Commanders are held accountable for the safety stats of their units.

The reason for the headline Jumper Dies - Jumper Lives is because Justin was truly a miracle of God.

Justin slammed into a fence and although currently a paraplegic he is alive to tell about it after according to Dr. Davis being clinically dead for 20 seconds.

Most people would agree that this is a miracle of god and the minority probably just a coincidence.

Anonymous
#257411

yesterday, i stopped by skydive temple to speak with mark pollack regarding some professional plans my fiance and i have made with him. i have never witnessed any skydiving jumps [tandem or solo] before yesterday and have never gone on a skydive myself. i am not educated in the sport of skydiving, though i AM educated.

shawn richeson claimed that skydive temple is selling "impressionable kids" and as someone else has pointed out, justin richeson, a 24 y.o. 6'4" 200+ lb MAN is not a "kid" by any means.

from the approximately 2 hours i spent at skydive temple, i was able to spectate roughly 15 jumps or so. everything went off without a hitch, and everyone enjoyed themselves thoroughly.

while there, i spoke to mark strictly about what my fiance and i were there for, and then observed mark getting back to work, running this business. we happened to speak to his wife, penny, also, who was

very helpful. i then sat alone under the pavilion to watch the skydiving, and right before i left, happened to have a short chat with mark and someone else who i believe may work for skydive temple. we are not personal friends of the pollack's [or anyone associated with/employed by skydive temple, for that matter], yet they were all very friendly and took the time to speak with you.

do accidents happen? yes, of course, and that's the risk you take. but this is true in every sport. i broke an arm playing softball 15 years ago and am scheduled for knee surgery soon due to old injuries from sports; my fiance had 6 front teeth knocked out from a baseball hit straight back to him on the pitcher's mound a few years ago. should we have sued the people involved in our injuries? libeled the entire game of baseball/softball? we knew the risks of the sport in which we participated.

ACCIDENTS HAPPEN, and that's what this was. a terrible accident. justin is an adult, fully capable of making his own decisions, knowing the risks, and he is a smart person from what i have read, seen, etc. UMHB with a degree in Comp Sci? [no easy feat, if you ask me]

it is my observation that the richeson family knows about the sport of skydiving only minimally, are justifiably angry, and are deflecting the blame where blame is not warranted.

if skydiving is a sport that, which shawn richeson claims, always results in death or permanent disability, why wasn't he an advocate of anti-skydiving before? why did it take this horrible accident for him to take action? if he truly cared this much, he would have done something before it was "too late." i'm sure he knew of at least SOME of his son's previous 15 successful jumps, why didn't he implore his son to refrain from jumping any of those times? why didn't he research the pollack's business' accident/injury record during this time, if he was so concerned?

and lastly, stop playing up this "justin died....then was revived" angle. you know the reaction and immediate thoughts associated with "jumper dies." true, justin did technically die, but he is doing tremendously, now and only progressing, so get off it, because it is simply for the sake of drama, and for your family to use this to sell your point of view, lessens any credibility you may actually have.

Anonymous
Lemont, Illinois, United States #231777

He is at the old Hillcrest in Waco.

Anonymous
Lemont, Illinois, United States #226738

*** bro, that's terrible. What hospital is he in?

Anonymous
San Martin, San Juan Municipio, Puerto Rico #215223

I was thinking of trying skydiving until I saw this post. Maybe I better think this through for a while. Safety is a primary concern in my profession.

View more comments

You May Also Like